The Articles of Confederation

The Articles of Confederation

The articles of Confederation were written up by delegates from each of the thirteen states which won the American Revolutionary War. They created a confederation called the United States.

All the thirteen states are allies, meaning that they would help defend each other, recognize the legal proceedings and records of every other state, the citizens of one state are also citizens of every other state, and all states will help return runaway criminals to the state where they committed the crime.

States will select two to seven delegates for congress per year. Delegates can only serve for three years in an interval of six. Delegates have freedom of speech and cannot be arrested for petty crimes.

States can't conduct relationships with other countries without the approval of Congress. They can't wage war, negotiate peace, or make an army or navy, or make an alliance with another state. However, a state has to have a local militia.

Only Congress has the power to deal with other nations, declare war and peace, and deal with Native American affairs. Congress has to maintain standards for coins and measures, make rules for the army and navy, and run the post office.

Any changes to the Articles have to be approved by Congress.