Bone Types

Bone Types
Photo by Nino Liverani / Unsplash

There are four types of bones in the human body: long bones, short bones, flat bones, and irregular bones.

Long bones are very important. They have four jobs: to give you your shape, to help you move around, to support your body, and to produce bone marrow. Some examples of long bones are your femur and radius. Even though they are quite short, your phalanges are classified as long bones.

The femur (a LONG bone).

Another type of bone is the short bones, which are mostly cube-shaped and are found in your wrists/hands and ankles/feet. They give you the flexibility to help you move around easily. Some short bones are carpals, metacarpals, tarsals, and metatarsals.

Carpals and metacarpals, small bones

The next type of bone is the flat bones, and they mostly protect something in your body. For example, the ribs are flat bones and they protect your lungs and heart. Your skull protects your brain, and it is a flat bone too.

Ribs, which are flat bones.

The irregular bones are named that way because of their irregular shape. The lower half of the skull and 26 bones in your spine are all irregular bones.

The spinal column, a collection of irregular bones.